Georgia Auto Insurance Information

Call Us: 770.971.8452


About Georgia Car Insurance


While traversing the hills, mountains, beaches, and metropoles of this beautiful state, your auto insurance coverage remains your most important passenger in your vehicle! Always drive with your auto insurance policy ID card in your car and your wallet to avoid any traffic offenses and to stay covered in the event of a crash.

In the State of Georgia, insurance is a bit more tricky than other states, starting with the fact that here we have two regulatory organizations for motor vehicles.

Most states have one DMV, but we’re twice as nice to car-ownership hopefuls in Georgia. We rely on the Department of Driver Services for driver’s licenses and permits. The Motor Vehicle Division of the Georgia Department of Revenue is responsible for registrations, tags, and titles.

Additionally, unlike most states, Georgia does not require that you show your insurance ID Card as proof of coverage. Let’s find out more about getting licensed, registered, and insured in Georgia.


Auto Insurance Policy Requirements


Georgia Minimum Coverage


Bodily Injury Liability and Property Damage Liability are required coverages for all drivers in Georgia. The following amounts are the minimums you can purchase in order to drive legally and register your vehicle.


Bodily Injury Liability

$25,000 per person

$50,000 per accident


Property Damage Liability

$25,000 per person


Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury

$25,000 per person

$50,000 per accident


Uninsured Motorist Property Damage

$25,000 per person with a $250, $500, or $1,000 deductible



Georgia Auto Coverage & Driving Laws


Move-Over Law

You are required by Georgia State Law to move your vehicle over one lane if you see an emergency vehicle parked in a highway shoulder with flashing lights on. If traffic is too congested to safely move over, you must at least reduce speed under the posted speed limit, and be prepared to stop.

If you do not comply with this regulation, you will be subject to a moving violation penalty. You could have points added to your driving history, or be required to pay a fine up to $500.


Texting While Driving

No text messages may be sent while operating a motor vehicle in Georgia. Exceptions to this rule include emergency situations, or sending a text with your car completely parked.

You risk being fined up to $150 for texting and driving simultaneously, or without being in “park”. Georgia drivers under the age of 18 are banned from using any wireless device while driving, including mobile phones, tablets, laptops, and all varieties of devices used for texting.


Have questions about driving and staying insured in Georgia? Call our office and speak with a licensed expert at 770.971.8452!